The Volcanic & Magmatic Studies Group was formed on 7 January 1997.

This constitution replaces all previous versions and was approved by the Councils of the Geological Society of London and the Mineralogical Society on 28 June 2006 and 15 June 2006, respectively, and adopted at a Special Meeting of the Volcanic & Magmatic Studies Group held on 4 January 2007.

The Committee of the Group (see terms below) will also constitute the UK National Committee of the International Association of Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earth’s Interior (IAVCEI), and the Chair shall take on the roles of both UK National Correspondent to IAVCEI and IAVCEI representative on the UK National Committee of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG).




  1. The name of the Group shall be the Joint Geological Society and Mineralogical Society Volcanic & Magmatic Studies Group, to be known as THE VOLCANIC & MAGMATIC STUDIES GROUP.



  1. The aims of Group shall be to promote and advance the study of physical volcanology, igneous geochemistry and petrology, volcano geophysics and related subjects by:

(a) stimulating a wider interest in volcanology and magmatic processes;

(b) facilitating the exchange of information between members of the Group and with others working in similar fields of interest;

(c) the convening of meetings, workshops, seminars and field visits on themes of interest to Group members;

(d) publication;

(e) encouragement of research, teaching and practical application.



  1. Membership is open to all Fellows of the Geological Society of London and to Members and Fellows of the Mineralogical Society and others who are approved by the Committee of the Group in question.



  1. The affairs of the Group shall be managed by their respective Committees. The Committees shall each consist of ten elected Members, one of whom shall be the Chair, one a Secretary and one a Treasurer, and, ex officio, one member of the Council of the Geological Society of London, appointed by its Council, and the General Secretary of the Mineralogical Society.

  1. Where possible, the committee members are expected to fill the following roles between them: Public Relations Officer/Outreach Officer, Social Media/Website/Newsletter editor, Student/Early Career Representative, Field trips officer, Awards and Grants Officer, EDI Officer. (Ordinary Committee members may fulfil more than one of these roles.) Post-holders may be required to meet with equivalent post-holders in other special interest groups, e.g. to form an EDI committee.

  1. The Committee shall have the power by agreement of those voting and present (in person or by electronic means) to co-opt for a specified period of time up to four additional members.

  1. All committee members must be Members or Fellows of either the Geological Society of London or of the Mineralogical Society.

  1. The Chair, the Secretary and the Treasurer shall be deemed the Officers of the Group.

  1. The Chair of each group or their nominee, who must be a Member of the Mineralogical Society, should sit on the Mineralogical Society Council of London

  1. The Treasurer must be a Fellow or Member of the Mineralogical Society.

  1. One individual, who must be a Fellow, and selected by the Geological Society of London (and agreed by the Chairs of the Geochemistry, Metamorphic Studies and Volcanic & Magmatic Studies Groups), will represent all three joint SIGs at the Science Committee of the Geological Society of London.

  1. The Group shall hold an Annual General meeting every year. Two months before this meeting, vacancies arising on the committee will be advertised to all members via Group-specific channels (e.g. social media, newsletters). Nominees should be approved by a majority of the committee. Each committee, with and through its EDI Officer, will endeavour, to the greatest extent possible, ensure equality of opportunity to serve on that committee for all relevant scientists, diversity of committee membership, and inclusivity in terms of all those who are elected to serve.

  1. If more Candidates are nominated for any position on the Committee of a Group than there are vacancies, then an election by Ballot shall be held.

  1. In the event of an election by Ballot being required, the Secretary of the Group shall issue to every member of that Group, by email or paper mail, one month before the annual general meeting, an invitation to vote for those candidates who have been nominated or who have offered to serve the committee. The ballot will contain the names of all those who have offered to serve and the post for which they are being considered. Those who wish, may write in the name of an additional candidate, this name to be considered by the committee as a possible co-optee. The ballots will be anonymous.


  1. As soon as may be convenient after the opening of the Annual General Meeting of the Group, the Chair of the meeting shall report the voting results and the new committee shall be declared elected to be constituted in accordance with the provisions of these paragraphs.


  1. One ordinary member of the Committee shall retire annually at the Annual General Meeting, and shall not be eligible for re-election as such until the next Annual General Meeting. The maximum term of office of any member of each of the committees shall be three consecutive years. All Officers, however, become eligible for immediate nomination as ordinary members of the Committee upon completion of their term as Officers.

  1. The quorum for a meeting shall be four members, one of whom shall be an Officer of the Group.

  1. Meetings of the Committee shall be summoned by the Secretary at the order of the Chair, or not fewer than three members of the Committee.



  1. The AGM shall be held annually, as close to the same time each year as possible.

  1. Reports on the work, progress and finances of the group shall be submitted in accordance with the annual reporting requirements of the Geological and Mineralogical Societies for their Annual Financial Statements and Reports


  1. The financial affairs of the Groups will be the responsibility of the respective Treasurers who will, where necessary, consult and be advised by the Treasurers of the Geological Society of London and the Mineralogical Society.

  1. The Group shall incur no financial obligation chargeable to the Geological Society of London or the Mineralogical Society, unless such obligations have been authorised in advance by their respective Councils.

  1. The financial affairs of the Groups will be administered, audited and reported by the Mineralogical Society as the responsible parent body.



  1. The Groups shall not take any action which may conflict with either the terms of the Charter and Bye-Laws of the Geological Society of London or the Bye-Laws of the Mineralogical Society.

  1. All publicity will describe the Groups as Joint Special Interest Groups of the Geological Society of London and the Mineralogical Society


  1. Alterations to the Constitution may be made only with the approval of the Group (expressed by majority decision at an Annual General Meeting) and of the Councils of both Societies; and shall not become effective until they have received such approval.


Published by the Mineralogical Society,
12 Baylis Mews, Amyand Park Road, Twickenham, Middlesex TW1 3HQ, UK


Registered Charity Number 233706