The Henry Emeleus Fieldwork Grant

At its meeting in July 2018, the VMSG Committee agreed to establish a new award, named after C. Henry Emeleus (1930–2017), the internationally renowned igneous petrologist and field geologist. This single award of up to £1000 for fieldwork honours the pioneering work that Henry Emeleus undertook in the Paleogene North Atlantic Igneous Province (primarily Greenland, Ireland and NW Scotland). His highly-respected studies spanned over 60 years and were all underpinned by meticulous field observations.

To be eligible for the award applicants must be UK or Ireland based, and either:
• registered postgraduate students;
• postdoctoral researchers; or
• university lecturers.

At least 50% of the award should be spent directly on research fieldwork (transport, accommodation and field logistical support).

Preference will be given to:
• applications related to research on the Paleogene North Atlantic Large Igneous Province;
• members of the Geological Society of London and/or Mineralogical Society; and
• researchers with limited field work funds.

Full details are available in the Application Form. Applications and completed statements of support from two fellows or members of the Geological Society of London and/or Mineralogical Society must be sent to the VMSG Awards Officer, Emma Nicholson ( in time for the deadline. 2023 award deadline has now closed.

Past winners:

2023: Jingle (David) Zhang (Lancaster)
2022: Emily Madoff (St Andrews)
2021: Steven Walker (Edge Hill)
: Rachael Baxter (Cambridge)
2019: Craig Magee (Leeds)