The Willy Aspinall Award

The Willy Aspinall Prize may be made annually to the lead author of an outstanding paper on applied volcanology published (in English) within three years of the lead author being awarded a PhD at a university in the UK. The award will take the form of a cash prize (£400), a certificate, and a contribution towards attendance at the annual meeting of the Volcanic and Magmatic Studies Group (VMSG) of the Geological Society and the Mineralogical Society (held in January each year) where the winner will be invited to present their paper.

The Prize is named in honour of Prof. Willy Aspinall who is a distinguished professor at the University of Bristol and a hazard and risk science consultant.

Nominations can be made by any scientist (including a co-author), but not the nominee, and must be supported by a second scientist familiar with the nominee’s work. The second supporting scientist should not be a co-author on the publication itself. Nominations will be received by the Secretary of the VMSG.

The VMSG committee will consider the nominations and rank them. The committee may seek independent assessment if there is no expertise in the subject matter of the paper. The VMSG committee will make a decision and inform the winner. In any particular year, the committee may decide not to make an award.

Nominations should consist of a letter of nomination together with at least one letter of support, a copy of the paper being nominated and a copy of the nominee’s CV (2 pages maximum and including a list of publications). Each nomination package should be submitted in electronic form (a single pdf file) and sent to the VMSG Secretary.

The nominated paper must have been published within three years of the award of the nominee’s PhD. The committee will take into consideration the following points:
• Novelty
• Quality
• Practical applicability in volcanology
With respect to the third point, nominated papers will be preferred that reflect Professor Aspinall’s main interests in volcano geophysics, monitoring of volcanoes, early warning, volcanic hazards and risk assessment.